“Why Authors Tweet,” NY Times Article

Posted: January 9, 2012 in Writing
Tags: , , , , ,

Why do you tweet?  It’s pretty established that Tweeting does not necessarily increase sales in a substantial fashion.  H0wever, there’s no doubt that it keeps you and your work at the shiny front (rather than the cobwebbed rear) of minds.  Read this NY Times article entitled “Why Authors Tweet,” and then let me know why you tweet.  Very interested to hear!

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/01/08/books/review/why-authors-tweet.html?pagewanted=1&_r=1

Comments
  1. I tweet, therefore I am. Seriously. If I am not out there on social media, do I even exist in the 21st century? As far as not generating many sales, that’s probably true. But when you’re starting out, what constitutes “many”? Mostly, though, we meet peers–comrades in arms who cross-promote with us, share our successes and defeats, and help us to realize we’re not alone in our struggles. Sales are important, but buoyancy when we feel we are sinking is just as detrimental to our long-term survival.

  2. I tweet because I’ve been doing it so long and it’s fun. Not only do I have the oppurtunity to get Tweeps to recognize my name when they see or hear it, I get to talk about my books, my writing, and meet other like-minded people. I didn’t orginally start my Twitter in an effort to sell books. It was a way for me to communicate with a specific group of people who shared my love of music. Since 2008 I’ve learned a lot about Twitter and tweeting and using it as another resource to promote my books. Still, I really just tweet because I like it.

  3. I’m new to tweeting, but with a new book coming out this week, other authors have told me it’s the thing to do to get your name and writing out there.

    When my last book came out two years ago, I used promo loops, blogging and forums for that purpose. But sales weren’t all that great.

    Not that I expect sales for this new book to soar, especially since I’m still learning the ropes of social media. In truth, it’s a lot of work to keep up with all this. But if I must, I must.

  4. R.E. Donald says:

    As a brand new Tweep, I don’t know yet. My intention was to promote my ebooks. I was frankly shocked to find out from others that using Twitter doesn’t generate new sales, and am very interested in hearing why other writers Tweet. The last thing I need is a new addiction to siphon off the precious time I have to work on my third mystery. If I can manage to Tweet and still write, or if I find that it helps inspire and encourage me to write, then I will continue.

  5. I can’t see how it CAN’T sell books. It’s a long time between publications, and Twitter seems like a good way to keep your name in front of people. Also, it gives me an outlet for the strange thoughts that seep into my head.

  6. Its allowed me to connect not only with other authors, but also with teachers and librarians. That said, I do find I prefer FaceBook. It’s more of a conversation.

  7. Still a novice, I have been pounding Twitter hard in order to build up a fan base for my work. Slowly, very, very slowly, my followers have increased, but not to a degree that justifies the effort I’ve made. I always approach Twitter tentatively. I really don’t like communicating this way, it feels odd and somewhat futile. Moreover, my blog hits remain low and flat, that was until this past Sunday when they suddenly skyrocketed inexplicably. At first I thought it might be a spambot attack, but my stats show that the hits were real. What did I do differently? I spent the day before the deluge tweeting intensely for a couple hours and then on and off all day. But now I am really confused. My stats show that my increased hits did not originate from Twitter referrals (only a couple), and all those hits came nearly 24 hours after my time on Twitter without any prompting from me. I seems I simply can’t predict my followers’ behavior.

  8. We opened a Twitter account to tweet about our books and about books by other indie authors. Soon we were also tweeting other writing-related info. And then, we began to get attached to our Twitter friends. Now we tweet for a number of different reasons. But originally we did start to tweet about our books and introduce readers to our writing.

Leave a Reply

